The John DeSmit Citizen of the Year Award

The Citizen of the year award is presented to a person who has contributed freely to making the gay community a better place to live. This contribution, although not necessarily publically acclaimed, is one that allows each of us to move through life more freely and with more companionship among our neighbours and aquaintances.

John DeSmit was a man at ease with life and who socialized freely with everyone around him. He loved having a good time and demanded nothing from those he encountered. He showed the unaware that gay people are worth caring about. He was himself cared about by many people from all walks of life and his untimely death was a tragic loss to all who knew him.


Rob Browatzke hugging Emperor Davvid Drag On while receiving the John DeSmit Citizen of the Year Award.

2023 Stretcher Hymen
2022 Pride Corner
2021 Quinn Wade
2020 Corey Wyness
2019 Rob Browatzke
2018 Estefan Cortes-Vargas
2017 David Chimko (Vanity Fair)
2016 Aaron Granley
2015 Kim Pizzey
2014 Kristy Harcourt
2013 Mickey Wilson
2012 Mayor Stephen Mandel
2011 Deborah Jakubec
2010 Deborah Chymyshyn & Tracey Smith
2009 Rob Pearson
2007 Laurie Blakemen
2006 Rae Ann Woods; Kristopher Wells
2005 Murray Billet
2004 Vince Richards
2003 James Ross
2002 Mickey Wilson
2001 Teri Hayes
2000 Robert Smith
1998 Fred Dicker
1997 Dennis Cambly
1995 Mark Bilko
1994 Chance Winn
1993 Conrad Dragu
1992 Michael MacKinnon
1991 Lloyd Gobeil
1990 Mother Jean
1989 Sam Evannochko
1988 Kevin Hendricks
1987 Kyle Edgar
1986 Darrin Hagen
1985 Michael Ritter
1984 John M Kerr
1983 Michael Phair
1982 Ron and Ross Hahn
1981 Pat Fortier
1980 Ron Byers
1979 Jim Herbert
1978 John Reid